What are the drug laws in Florida?
What are the drug laws in Florida?
Chapter 893 Florida Statutes Even with a valid prescription, using a narcotic or regulated drug while driving under the influence of a controlled substance is illegal. Without a valid prescription, the mere possession of a controlled substance is illegal.
Do first time drug offenders go to jail in Florida?
While no attorney can guarantee the result of any case – and you should be very wary of a criminal defense attorney that tries to promise you a certain result on your case – it is unlikely you will go to jail for your first drug possession charge in Florida.
How long do you go to jail for drug possession in Florida?
If you are convicted of this crime, the maximum penalty you could face is one year in jail in addition to $1,000 in fines. The possession of any controlled substance included in Schedule V is a second degree misdemeanor. If you are convicted of this crime, you could face up to 60 days in jail and $500 in fines.
What is the mandatory minimum sentence for drug possession in Florida?
Florida Mandatory Minimum Drug Sentences Depending on the circumstances of your drug crime arrest in Florida, you could be facing a minimum of 3-years in prison and face a fine of up to $50,000.
Is Xanax illegal in Florida?
Possession of Alprazolam, often referred to as Xanax, is only legal in the state of Florida with a valid prescription by a certified physician. Possessing the drug without said prescription is considered unlawful and will result in criminal penalties.
Does Florida have strict drug laws?
Florida is one of several states in the U.S. with strict drug laws. The drug laws get tougher and tougher every year. These laws are found in chapter 893 of the Florida statutes. Chapter 893 sets out the list of “controlled substances” under the law.
What happens if drugs are found in a house?
Fighting Drug Possession Charges If drugs are found in your home or vehicle, then you will usually be arrested, but that doesn’t mean you are guilty. Police will do whatever they can to get you to either confess or at least say something that will hurt your defense later on.
Is acid illegal in Florida?
Is Acid Illegal in Florida? Acid (LSD) is illegal because it is considered a Schedule I Drug. the penalties for possession of it are: 1 -5 grams: 3-30 years of prison time.
Does Florida have 3 strikes?
Like California and many other states, Florida has a three strikes law that aims to punish habitual offenders or those who have been convicted of three or more crimes. If you have already been convicted of two felonies, another charge could lead to elevated penalties, such as life imprisonment.
How much coke is a felony in Florida?
In the state of Florida, possessing any amount of cocaine up to 28 grams is considered a third-degree felony, even if the bag contains only residue. Anyone who is found to be in possession of 28 grams or more will face trafficking charges.
Are dabs a felony in Florida?
Although possession of dabs or any other form of concentrated marijuana is a third-degree felony in Florida, our attorneys are familiar with the best ways to fight the charges.
Is tramadol a controlled drug in Florida?
Under a final rule published in the Federal Register, the pain reliever tramadol is classified as a Schedule IV controlled substance (CS) starting August 18, 2014.
What prescription drugs are bad for You?
Illegal drugs can damage the brain, heart, and other important organs. Cocaine, for instance, can cause a heart attack — even in a kid or teen. While using drugs, people are also less able to do well in school, sports, and other activities.
What are Florida drug laws?
Florida Drug Laws. Under Florida Statutes Section 893.13, “a person may not sell, manufacture, or deliver, or possess with intent to sell, manufacture, or deliver a controlled substance.” Florida also prohibits simple possession of drugs, conspiracy to commit drug crimes, driving under the influence of drugs, and drug trafficking.
Is prescription drug abuse against the law?
Using Drugs Without a Prescription Is Illegal. Nothing could be further from the truth. There are both federal and state laws that make using or sharing prescription drugs illegal. If you take a pill that was prescribed to someone else or give that pill to another person, not only is it against the law, it’s extremely dangerous.
What you should know about prescription drug abuse?
Drug overdoses now kill more Americans than motor vehicle crashes.