What are the Nine Epas competencies?

What are the Nine Epas competencies?

The 2015 EPAS identify nine social work competencies: (1) demonstrate ethical and professional behavior; (2) engage diversity and difference in practice; (3) advance human rights and social, economic, and environmental justice; (4) engage in practice- informed research and research- informed practice; (5) engage in …

What is holistic competence?

Holistic competence involves students’ actual professional performance and the students’ ability to reflect on their practice, use of self, and rationale for action. EPAS 2015 also acknowledges that components of holistic competencies may be assessed indirectly or outside of actual practices situations.

What is a key learning competency?

Competencies and Learning Outcomes. Competencies commonly define the applied skills and knowledge that enable people to successfully perform in professional, educational, and other life contexts. Outcome: A very specific statement that describes exactly what a student will be able to do in some measurable way.

How many core competencies are there in social work?

nine core competencies
The Council on Social Work Education, the accrediting agency for social work education in the United States, mandates that all Master of Social Work programs develop and implement an explicit curriculum that prepares graduates for practice by mastering a set of nine core competencies.

What is the most important competency that a social worker should possess?

Communication – both verbal and non-verbal – is a vital skill for social workers. The ability to communicate clearly with a wide range of people is essential. It is the duty of social workers to advocate for their clients – in order to do this, social workers must understand the client’s needs.

Why is holistic education important?

Holistic education instills curiosity and develop better communication and social skills. Holistic approach encourage children to make connection in a subject, using their creative skills. Develop psychological, social, and emotional growth. Make learning natural and engaging.

What are the 3 competencies?

The 3 Core Competencies

  • Communication.
  • Thinking.
  • Personal and Social.

What are the 10 social work competencies?


  • What makes an excellent social worker?

    What makes a good social worker is their ability to understand and share the feelings of others — also known as empathy. Social workers who have a strong ability to empathize will be able to form strong connections because their clients feel they understand them and can relate to the things that are difficult for them.

    What is the difference between EPAs and competencies in nursing?

    EPAs should be seen as the unit of the nurses’ work, such as physical assessment, medication administration etc., meanwhile competencies are the abilities of nurses to do that work with “professionalism”, teamwork and communication. In contrast to EPAs, competencies are considered extensive and include very detailed descriptions of tasks [ [17].

    Who developed the new Social Work competencies for the 2015 EPAS?

    The educational policy, which details the new social work competencies for the 2015 EPAS, was developed by COEP and. approved by the CSWE Board of Directors on March 20, 2015. The accreditation standards were developed and approved. by the COA on June 11, 2015.

    What is the Council on Social Work Education EPAS?

    The Council on Social Work Education (CSWE) uses the Educational Policy and Accreditation Standards (EPAS) to accredit baccalaureate and master’s level social work programs. EPAS supports academic excellence by establishing thresholds for professional competence. It permits programs to use traditional and emerging models and methods

    What is an example of multiple entrustable competencies?

    Multiple competencies are nested within each entrustable activity, with multiple activities fitting into each larger EPA, and so on [32]. Take for example the EPA of history-taking; among other competencies, history-taking includes knowledge application and communication. History-taking is part of the larger EPA of health assessment.