What countries are both European and Asian?

What countries are both European and Asian?

There are immense cultural differences between the European part of Russia and the Asian part of Russia, but both parts form one that is governed by the city of Moscow. Another transcontinental country is Turkey, which also straddles both Europe and Asia.

Is Asian part of Europe?

Europe is a continent which is also recognised as part of Eurasia, located entirely in the Northern Hemisphere and mostly in the Eastern Hemisphere….Europe.

Show national borders Hide national borders Show all
Area 10,180,000 km2 (3,930,000 sq mi) (6th)
Population density 72.9/km2 (188/sq mi) (2nd)

Does Europe and Asia touch?

The boundary between Asia and Europe is unusual among continental boundaries because of its largely mountain-and-river-based characteristics north and east of the Black Sea. The reason is historical, the division of Asia and Europe going back to the early Greek geographers.

Why is Europe not part of Asia?

Europe is considered a separate continent from Asia because of its distinct historical, cultural, and political identity, rather than any clear geographical demarcation.

What are the names of the countries in Asia?

Full Answer. Countries of Asia Asia is home to 48 countries that are members of the United Nations. The names of these Asian countries listed in alphabetical order are Afghanistan, Armenia, Azerbaijan , Bahrain, Bangladesh , Bhutan , Brunei , Cambodia, China, Cyprus, Georgia, India, Indonesia, Iran, Israel, Japan, Jordan, Kazakhstan , Korea North,…

How is the border between Europe and Asia defined?

Modern definition. The modern border between Asia and Europe remains a historical and cultural construct, defined only by convention. The modern border follows the Aegean Sea , the Dardanelles – Sea of Marmara – Bosphorus (together known as the Turkish Straits ), the Black Sea, along the watershed of the Greater Caucasus ,…

Where is Asia on a map?

Click the image for a larger version. Asia is a continent in the eastern and northern hemispheres. It is located east of Europe, north of the Indian Ocean , and it is bordered on the east by the Pacific Ocean and on the north by the Arctic Ocean. Asia includes the Philippine Archipelago and Indonesia.

How many countries in Asia?

As the largest continent in the world, thecontinent of Asia has 48 countries within its borders that are recognized by the United Nations. There are 5 additional dependent or unrecognized territories that are within the Asia continent as well which include Taiwan, Palestine, Hong Kong, and Macau among others. Dividing Lines of Asia