What is DoD 8500?

What is DoD 8500?

HomeManaged Threat Protection Regulatory Compliance DoDI 8500 Compliance. The DoD Information Assurance Certification and Accreditation Process (DIACAP) is the Department of Defense (DoD) process to ensure that risk management is applied on Information Systems (IS).

What is the DoD Isrmc?

Establishes the positions of DoD principal authorizing official (PAO) and the DoD Senior Information Security Officer (SISO) and continues the DoD Information Security Risk Management Committee (DoD ISRMC).

What is cpcon1?

CPCON Posture 1 represents very high cyber-risk operational environments. For each CPCON Posture there is a set of measures; cybersecurity and cyberspace defense actions that enable mission assurance. Global CPCON postures are determined in a centralized process supported by national sensors and information sources.

What is DoD certification?

While there is not a single DoD certification, this term refers to a set of standards and processes for ensuring individuals who work with the U.S. Department of Defense follow appropriate information assurance practices.

What is RMF certification?

DoD RMF certification and accreditation Developed by NIST, the Department of Defense (DoD) Risk Management Framework (RMF) provides a set of standards that enable DoD agencies to effectively manage cybersecurity risk and make more informed, risk-based decisions.

What are five things that cybersecurity ensures?

Risk Management Framework (RMF)

  • Common Control Identification.
  • Select security controls.
  • Develop system-level continuous monitoring strategy.
  • Review and approve the security plan and continuous monitoring strategy.
  • Apply overlays and tailor.

Who is responsible for STIGs?

STIGs, otherwise known as ‘Security Technical Implementation Guides’ are published by DISA (The Defense Information Systems Agency) and must be adhered to by any organization that is connecting to the US Department of Defense’s networks (DoD).

How many Cpcon are there?

How INFOCON works. INFOCON has five levels (see below) ranging from normal conditions all the way to responding to a general attack. Like FPCONs, these conditions may vary from base to base, command to command, and even between theatres of operations.

What are the cyber protection condition levels?

There are five Force Protection Conditions: Normal, Alpha, Bravo, Charlie, and Delta.

Is DoDI 8500.2 still valid?

Well, the short answer is there will be no revised DoDI 8500.2 — DoD has decided to simply rescind it. A few of the key NIST and CNSS publications that are being “adopted” by DoD are: ♦ NIST Special Publication (SP) 800- 53, Revision 4.

What is Diacap called now?

In March of 2014, the DOD CIO signed the revision to DODI 8510.01, which instituted the change from DIACAP over to RMF for DOD IT.

What are DOD regulations?

The Department of Defense (DoD) Regulatory Program is administered by the Office of the Director of Administration and Management, Directorate for Oversight and Compliance, Regulatory and Advisory Committee Division (RAACD).

What is Dodd 8500.01e?

Reissues and renames DoD Directive (DoDD) 8500.01E (Reference (a)) as a DoD Instruction (DoDI) pursuant to the authority in DoDD 5144.02 (Reference (b)) to establish a DoD cybersecurity program to protect and defend DoD information and information technology (IT).

What is a DoD document?

A DEPARTMENT OF DEFENSE (DOD) DIRECTIVE is a broad policy document containing what is required by legislation, the President, or the Secretary of Defense to initiate, govern, or regulate actions or conduct by the DoD Components within their specific areas of responsibilities.

What are the branches of the Department of Defense?

Structure & Branches. The US military has five branches: the Army, Navy, Air Force, Marines, and Coast Guard. As shown in the graphic below, the Army, Navy, Air Force, and Marines are housed under the Department of Defense (DOD). The DOD is headed by The Secretary of Defense , a civilian appointed by the President.