How do you get a commercial pesticide license in Georgia?

How do you get a commercial pesticide license in Georgia?

In order to obtain a commercial applicator license, you must pass the commercial applicator examination provided by the Georgia Technical Colleges. This computerized exam is administered at several locations around the state numerous times during the course of a given year.

Do I need a license to spray Roundup in Georgia?

The Georgia Pesticide Use and Application Act of 1976 requires that any person engaged in the business of applying pesticides to the lands of another within the State of Georgia must first be issued a pesticide contractor’s license by the Commissioner of Agriculture.

Who enforces pesticide rules in Georgia?

The Georgia Department of Agriculture
Complaints & Incidents The Georgia Department of Agriculture works diligently to ensure that pesticide applications are made in a manner that is responsible and in accordance with state and federal guidelines.

Who can buy a RUP?

RUPs are not available for purchase or use by the general public. RUPs have the potential to cause unreasonable adverse effects to the environment and injury to applicators or bystanders without added restrictions.

How do I become a certified pest control operator in Georgia?

Employee Registration requires that all employees who make inspections, propose treatments, or apply control procedures in structural pest control, meet the following requirements:

  1. Attend a minimum of ten hours of classroom training.
  2. Complete 70 hours of supervised “on the job” training.
  3. Take and pass an exam.

Do you need a license to apply fertilizer in Georgia?

The Georgia Fertilizer Act requires persons who distribute fertilizer in Georgia to be licensed and all specialty fertilizers be registered. Anyone who distributes a fertilizer in Georgia to non-licensees must pay an inspection fee of $0.60 per ton to the Georgia Department of Agriculture.

Who enforces pesticides?

The Department of Pesticide Regulation (DPR) oversees a multi-tiered enforcement program. The U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (U.S. EPA) enacts laws covering minimum pesticide requirements that are enforced at the State and local (county) levels through cooperative agreements.

How do states regulate pesticides?

States receive their pesticide regulation authority through the Federal Insecticide, Fungicide, and Rodenticide Act (FIFRA) and through state pesticide laws. States can require registration of pesticides that are exempt under FIFRA.

What is a RUP license?

Restricted use pesticides or “RUP” are pesticides not available to the general public in the United States. The “Restricted Use” classification restricts a product, or its uses, to use by a certificated pesticide applicator or under the direct supervision of a certified applicator.

How long does a pest control certificate last?

Regulation 2(3)(d): In the course of a business, in the presence and under the supervision of a Registered Pest Control Operator, has administered agricultural remedies continuously for four years.

Do I need a pesticide licence?

A pesticide license is required of everyone applying Restricted Use pesticides. Also, anyone applying Restricted or general Use pesticides in the course of employment must have a license. A person applying a General Use pesticide on his or her own property is exempt.

Do you need a pesticide license?

No license required: If you or your employer owns or rents the land and you will only use general use pesticides, you do not need a pesticide license . Private Applicator License: Is required to use restricted use pesticides to produce an agricultural commodity on land that you or your employer owns or rents.

What is a GA license?

Georgia Class D Drivers License. It is a provisional license that is issued to drivers license under 18 years of age who have completed the written knowledge exam, held their CP drivers license for the sufficient amount of time, complete the Georgia drivers education class and passed the driving test.