What is the genus and species of earthworms?

What is the genus and species of earthworms?

earthworm, also called angleworm, any one of more than 1,800 species of terrestrial worms of the class Oligochaeta (phylum Annelida)—in particular, members of the genus Lumbricus. Seventeen native species and 13 introduced species (from Europe) occur in the eastern United States, L. terrestris being the most common.

What is the class and order of earthworm?


What are the 7 classification of earthworm?

The seven categories of biological taxonomy are Kingdom, Phylum, Class, Order, Family, Genus and Species.

What family do earthworms belong to?

They belong to the phylum Annelida and are the larger members of the Oligochaeta. Taxonomically they are five large families of earthworms….INTRODUCTION.

Lumbricidae Exxidae
: :
Temperate areas of Northern Hemisphere, mostly Eurasia Central America

What is the order of worms?

Kingdom: Animalia
Phylum: Annelida
Class: Clitellata
Order: Opisthopora

What phylum do worms belong to?

phylum Annelida
Segmented worms (phylum Annelida) are the most complex animals with worm-like body plans. A study of worms can illuminate a possible history of how some organ systems and body features evolved. Worms are invertebrate animals with bilateral symmetry. Worms have a definite anterior (head) end and a posterior (tail) end.

What category is a worm?

Earthworms have no eyes but can sense light. Worms definitely don’t have a backbone or any bones in their slender, tender body so they are invertebrates. The classification of invertebrate includes many animals such as spiders, insects, centipedes, slugs, snails, millipedes and even jellyfish and squid.

What group are worms?

Worms are members of several invertebrate phyla, including Platyhelminthes (flatworms), Annelida (segmented worms), Nemertea (ribbon worms), Nematoda (roundworms, pinworms, etc.), Sipuncula (peanutworms), Echiura (spoonworms), Acanthocephala (spiny-headed worms), Pogonophora (beardworms), and Chaetognatha (arrowworms).

How many species of earthworms are there?

7,000 species
Earthworms occur in most temperate soils and many tropical soils. They are divided into 23 families, more than 700 genera, and more than 7,000 species.

How many segments does an earthworm have?

The earthworm is made of about 100-150 segments. The segmented body parts provide important structural functions. Segmentation can help the earthworm move. Each segment or section has muscles and bristles called setae.

What order is a worm?


Kingdom: Animalia
Phylum: Annelida
Class: Clitellata
Order: Opisthopora

Do all worms belong to the same phylum?

Worms are classified into three major phyla, or groups. They are flatworms, roundworms, and segmented worms. Flatworms belong to the phylum Platyhelminthes (plat ee hel MIN theeze). Roundworms belong to the phylum Nematoda (knee ma TOE da).

What class of animals does the earthworm belong to?

Earthworms belong to phylum annelida. This phylum is part of the animal kingdom and includes marine, freshwater and terrestrial worms in addition to leeches.

What classification of animal is an earthworm?

An earthworm is an invertebrate animal with a long, stretchy body and no legs. It is a type of annelid . There are 5,500 known species of worms.

What is the most common earthworm?

Earthworm. In temperate zone areas, the most commonly seen earthworms are lumbricids (Lumbricidae), mostly due to the recent rapid spread of a relatively small number of European species. However, there are many other families, including Megascolecidae, Octochaetidae, Sparganophilidae, and Glossoscolecidae.

What is the scientific classification of an earthworm?

Earthworm is the common name for the larger terrestrial invertebrates of the Oligochaeta (which is either a class or subclass depending on the author) in the phylum Annelida (segmented worms). In particular, the term earthworm commonly is applied to those worms belonging to the family Lumbricidae and the genus Lumbricus .